Inspiration

WE WERE MORE THAN WE KNEW WE COULD BE

trees-699187_1280

You were once so strong, so brave, so immovable, so much like me. At times you held me up above the world as if there was only us. At times I pressed my back against you & crossed my ankles in the grass. You never let me fall, though I pushed you to, you never grew tired. You were a border of protection, tower of security, you were all.

Then with one stroke, you were nothing at all, cut down and left. I remember seeking to climb your branches that day but you were broken. Your glory gone, your leaves spread about your trunk like dead children. And I wept because you were so much like me.

We were strong and then we were not
We were brave and then we were weak
We were beautiful and then we were broken
We were rain forests and sequoias, oaks and willows
We were the mighty and then we were cut down to our core

I gazed at you because you were like a mirror to my soul and I cried. Folded over in agony, no longer able to stand we crumbled together into the earth. I lay there for a long time and then I sat in silence until the silence spoke. And everyday I came back to this place, we sat & listened to the still voice. The rings in your trunk told me of the long life you had led & who you had been.

That life was no more, yet here we were and  I still loved you. Your branches once held me up and now your sawed trunk became my resting place. Your beauty once caught my eye and now your simplicity stole my heart. And I weep because you are so much like me.

We were proud and then we were humble
We were independent and then we were community
We were immovable and then we were compassionate
We were rigid and then we were tender
We were unaware of our mortality and then were confronted with insignificance
We were cut down to our core & found that we were more than we knew we could be

AND I WEEP BECAUSE THE BREAKING MADE US STRONG

4 thoughts on “WE WERE MORE THAN WE KNEW WE COULD BE

Leave a Reply

